Bicillin LA Injections

Sadly I did not improve on the oral program.

My neurological symptoms worried the doctor and they decided to switch to Bicillin Injections before we lost too much ground.

And so I’m starting a new chapter in my Lyme journey.

I don’t know what you know about intramuscular injections, but they involve a long needle plunged at a ninety degree angle deep into your Dorsogluteal or Ventrogluteal muscles. A thick paste is then injected slowly over a period of about 5 minutes.

This is where being skinny comes in handy. While most people get a three inch needle, I am blessed with an inch and a half needle. Whoo hoo! Maybe I’ll stop trying to gain weight! =)

This may sound crazy but I was really excited about starting the injections. I’ve been feeling so sick and hated the thought of losing what we’d worked so hard to gain! So now I hope I can get back to where I was a few months ago and make even more progress.

Some people are on these injections for years. I have no idea how long I’ll be on them, but I’ll be pleasantly surprised if it’s less than a year.

So I got my first injection yesterday. My little brother Alex volunteered to give it but I politely turned him down. =)

Aunt Connie will be giving them and showed up in the white heels she wore when my PICC was placed and also when it was surgically removed. Since we are starting a new chapter, she thought they were appropriate. =)

It was a little more painful than I expected but it’s tolerable. Some folks use lidocane to numb the area and others use ice. I tried ice yesterday and I don’t think it was a good idea. Perhaps I’ll try heat next time to relax the muscle. They tell me I should also exercise the leg to get the bicillin moving and say it helps the soreness later. Today the soreness seems worse and my sister Rosemary says I walk like an old lady! But there are a few more tricks to try and hopefully we’ll get it to where they aren’t as painful.

For you Lymies: the dosage is 1.2 million units twice a week.

I would like to learn how to do them so I don’t have to take Connie with me everywhere I go. But I think I’ll let her do them whenever possible. =) You do have to be careful not to hit the sciatic nerve or inject into a blood vein when giving an IM injection. This could cause paralysis or brain injury.

I’m really hoping I’ll tolerate the bicillin and do well. If I don’t, it’s back to intravenous therapy. While I don’t mind IV therapy, it’s a step in the wrong direction.

3 thoughts on “Bicillin LA Injections

  1. I found your blog, I read with much interest. I care even though I don’t know you. As far as injections, our son gets an injection of growth hormone once a day and has had this since he is 9mo. old. His injections are subQ. He recently started giving himself the shot. He is 13yrs. old. His life is quite normal. God is Good, all the time!!

    Like

  2. You are braver than I am girl! I have been fearing the day that I go from IV to Bicillin, and then to orals. I don’t have a fear of needles, but for it to go into my muscle, that is a whole ‘nother story! I hear all these stories how much they hurt and I just freak. Oh my….just let me do IVs, I won’t complain! haha

    Keep up the great “shoot em ups” and hopefully this is the ticket to keeping you from backsliding into IV land again!

    Love, Lynnelle

    Like

Leave a Reply

